Current City Election

Official Election Results issued on November 18, 2016, declared
Ben Malik as Mayor (Seat 1)
Ed Martinez as Commissioner (Seat 2)
Karalyn Woulas as Commissioner (Seat 3.)
Official Swearing In will be on December 1, 2016 at 7:00PM in the City Commission Meeting Room, at City Hall. 

The term of following Cocoa Beach Commission Seats expire in November 2016:
Seat 1, Mayor (currently filled by Mayor Tumulty)
Seat 2, Commissioner (currently filled by Commissioner Martinez)
Seat 3, Commissioner (currently filled by Commissioner Malik)
There will next City election will be held on November 8, 2016.

The City Election Calendar reflects the date of the election, important dates for voter registration and voting, and the date City Candidate Treasurer Reports are due.  City of Cocoa Beach Election Calendar.

Election Dates

2016 Election Day Dates

The election dates for 2016 are:

  • Presidential Preference Primary Election: March 15, 2016
  • Primary Election: August 30, 2016
  • General and City Election: November 8, 2016

2016 Voter Registration/Bookclosing Deadline

You can register to vote at any time. The deadline to register to vote for an upcoming election is 29 days before the election. The registration deadlines for the 2016 election cycle are:

  • Presidential Preference Primary Election: February 16, 2016
  • Primary Election: August 1, 2016
  • General Election: October 18, 2016

2016 Absentee Ballot 'Send' Deadline

For absent stateside and overseas uniformed service members and overseas civilians (also known as UOCAVA voters), the deadline for election officials to send ballots is 45 days before an election:

  • Presidential Preference Primary Election: January 30, 2016
  • Primary Election: July 16, 2016
  • General Election: September 24, 2016

For domestic voters the deadline for election officials to send ballots is between 35 and 28 days (7-day window) before an election:

  • Presidential Preference Primary Election:  February 9 - 16, 2016
  • Primary Election: July 26 – August 2, 2016
  • General Election: October 4 – 11, 2016

2016 Early Voting Period

The early voting period consists of a minimum mandatory period of 8 days. It starts on the 10th day and ends on the 3rd day before Election Day:

  • Presidential Preference Primary Election: March 5- 12, 2016
  • Primary Election: August 20 – 27, 2016
  • General Election: October 24 – November 5, 2016

In addition, each county Supervisor of Elections may at his or her own discretion offer additional days of early voting on any or all days during the 15th through 11th day and the last Sunday before Election Day. Early Voting Locations: Click here.